Giro di Toscana “Stella” 2018

Starting every Day from Mar. 24th to Oct. 20th, 2017

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged

559€

radtouren toskanarennradtour-toskana-00015

Individual Road Cycling Tour 7 Days / 6 Nights

Following in the Giro and Road World Championship tracks.

You will be based between Pisa and Florence, in the town of Montecatini Terme. This locality has featured prominently in the Road World Championship and in several stages of the Giro d’Italia, as well as having staged numerous local road cycling events. Due to its geographical position, Montecatini Terme is the ideal starting point for multifaceted excursions.

From a landscape perspective, the northern part of Tuscany is extremely varied; the routes we have chosen for you include both the typical hilly areas with their cypresses, pinewoods, olive groves and grapevines, as well as the more rugged natural areas at the foot of the Apennine range.

This tour also includes the hill range of Montalbano, training ground for the winner of the “Giro d’Italia” and “Tour de France” Vincenzo Nibali, through the wine production area around the medieval town of Montecarlo; you will be visiting the charming town of Vinci, hometown of Leonardo. With the ascent to the “Monti Pisani“ and the quaint ”Svizzera Pesciatina“ landscape, you will also have to tackle more mountainous terrains.

On three tours, starting in 2017, you also have the possibility of visiting the historic cities of Lucca, Pisa and Pistoia.

Enjoy this sightseeing tour to one of the most beautiful cultural regions of the world, where the challenges of sport are ideally combined with culinary delights.

And if the weather is not good, or if you do not wish to spend the day on your bicycle saddle, there are always the historic cities of Lucca, Florence and Pisa for a worthwhile sightseeing excursion.

Services

  • 6-night bed and breakfast in 4**** hotel
  • Personal welcome and tour-info
  • Tour-hotline
  • Carefully designed road cycling routes
  • Own signposting along the route
  • Tour map with road- and tour book (overview maps, altimetry profile etc.)
  • Welcome drink
  • Aperitif at the end of the tour-week
  • GPS-tracks on request

Extra Services

  • Special leg massage with warm oil at the Thai Silk Spa in Montecatini Terme, 30 min. Price € 40.00 (reservations during the tour-info session and payable on site)

Tour Schedule 2018

Starting every Day:

from Mar. 24th to Oct. 20th, 2017

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged.

Lucca Dom Toskanarennradtour-toskana-00003

Prices

Buchungscode GdT Stella
Basic charge in DBL room/BB 559,-€
Single room extra charge 195,-€
Extra night in Montecatini per person in DBL room 67,-€
Extra night in Montecatini single room extra charge 19,-€
6-day half board extra fee 150,-€
Roadbike Carbon 170,-€
Hybrid Sport-Bike 120,-€

Arrival / Parking / Departure

  • Garage at a charge of € 50,- per week
  • Airport-Shuttle: on request we can organise airport transfers from Florence and Pisa to Montecatini Terme and back, about €100,- / Transfer.

Please note:

Any tourist tax, if due, is not included in the tour price.

(all Prices in Euro, VAT & Taxes Included)

rennradtour-toskana-00061rennradtour-toskana-00060

Program

mappa-tour-stella-2016-10-14

Tour Description

  • Total Kilometres: about 420 up to 455 km
  • Stage lenght: five routes between about 75 km and 125 km long
  • Difference in level: about 6000 hm gained up to about 6250 hm gained
  • Requirement: good basic conditions

Route Profile

  • hilly landscapes characterised by continuously alternating uphill and downhill cycling
  • just a few long climbs and hardly any flat stretches
  • for the most part away from busy main roads
  • when cycling in and out of towns, traffic is expected to be busier

Day 1 Saturday

1

Individual arrival in Montecatini Terme

Welcome drink and tour-info session at the hotel in Montecatini Terme.

Day 2 Sunday

2

Vinci (about 75 km, about 800 hm gained)

Our “home tour“ leads first of all through flat and then slightly hilly terrain. This unique cultural landscape follows the wine route known as “Strada dell‘Olio e del vino del Montalbano“, all the way to the small medieval village of Vinci, where you can visit the Leonardo Museum and the birthplace of the famous Renaissance artists. Cycling along olive groves and grapevines, the return trip starts with a longer climb which will give you a fantastic, worthwhile insight of the Monti Pisani mountain range and of the Valdinievole.

Day 3 Monday

3

Monte Serra / Pisa (about 110 km, about 1200 hm gained or about 125 km, about 1200 hm gained)

To warm up we will be cycling across the scenic Bientina plain. The mountain range known as “Monti Pisani“ – the most challenging part of today’s tour – can already be seen from a distance. You will reach Pieve di Compito, a village known because of its camellias, and from here there is a climb about ten kilometres long, up to the 900m-high Monte Serra. From its peak there is a breath-taking view of Pisa and the Mediterranean. After the descent, our route leads through the medieval small town of Buti back to the plain and continues across rolling hills back to base.

Without any additional climbing, on the longer route you have the possibility of taking in the town of Pisa, where you will be rewarded by a visit to “Piazza dei Miracoli” and its unique leaning tower.

Day 4 Tuesday

4

San Baronto (about 80 km, about 1400 hm gained)

The first highlight in today’s excursion is the climb to San Baronto. As part of the World Championship route and having featured many times as a Giro stage, this is a mecca for road cyclists in Tuscany. After quick refreshments, possibly with a tasty “panino“ from the café “L’indicatore“, there is a long descent and finally you will be cycling across the plains around Pistoia, characterized by nurseries and market gardens.

A detour to the medieval town centre of  Pistoia is definitely worthwhile. Other exciting climbs will lead you to the foot of the Apennine chain. The landscape changes here and the route is increasingly marked by leafy chestnut and acacia woods. The spectacular views of the mountain world of the Apennines and hilly landscapes of Tuscany certainly make the effort worthwhile.

Day 5 Wednesday

5

Lucca / Montecarlo (about 90 km, about 1100 hm gained or about 75 km, 850 hm gained)

To begin with the first kilometres run across the “Padule di Fucecchio“ flatland. Then a slight climb leads to the town of Montecarlo on a small mountain. Your efforts will be rewarded by a winding scenic route, which ends up in the hilly landscape around Lucca. This is where Tuscany shows its well-known traits: old vineyards with cypress-lined avenues, olive groves and grapevines now characterise the landscape. The following ups and down will provide you with charming insights and views over the heart of Tuscany.

With its “Piazza dell‘Anfiteatro”, “San Martino” Cathedral and impressive city walls, Lucca is a truly fantastic highlight. After a short stretch on a plain, you will be cycling along rolling hills back towards Montecatini.

If you wish, you can take a shorter route which is a round trip going only through Montecarlo.

Day 6 Thursday

6

Svizzera Pesciatina (about 80 km, about 1700 hm gained)

The final stage begins with the “Giro d‘Italia ascent“ to Vico, which then continues towards the heights at the foot of the Apennines. After a first descent, you will reach one of the intact parts of Tuscany: the picturesque landscape known as “Svizzera Pesciatina“. From the climb which you will have to tackle from here, the gaze reaches as far as the ten medieval villages which stand proudly out of the chestnut woods.

An extended downhill stretch will lead you along the river Pescia in the town by the same name, then – after a final ascent – you will get another impressive view of the rolling hills around Valdinievole and of nearby Montecatini Terme.

Day 7 Saturday

7

Departure or extended stay.

Giro di Toscana “Stella” 2018

Starting every Day from Mar. 24th to Oct. 20th, 2017

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged

559€

Photos

Giro di Toscana „Stella“ 2018

Anreise jeden Tag vom 24.03 bis 20.10.2018

Auf Anfrage sind eventuell auch andere Anreisedaten möglich.

559‚ā¨

radtouren toskanarennradtour-toskana-00015

Individuelle Rennradtour 7 Tage / 6 Nächte

Auf den Spuren des Giro und der Rad-WM.

Ihr Quartier beziehen Sie in der zwischen Pisa und Florenz gelegenen Stadt Montecatini Terme. Der Ort spielt eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Rad-WM und verschiedenen Etappen des Giro d‚ÄôItalia sowie bei der Ausrichtung zahlreicher lokaler Radrennen. Aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage ist Montecatini Terme ein idealer Ausgangspunkt f√ľr variantenreiche Ausfahrten.

Landschaftlich bietet der Norden der Toskana viele Facetten und unsere ausgesuchten Routen f√ľhren Sie sowohl in die charakteristischen H√ľgelgebiete mit ihren Zypressen, Pinien, Olivenhainen und Weinst√∂cken als auch in die rauere Naturlandschaft der Ausl√§ufer des Apennin-Gebirges.

Dabei fahren Sie unter anderem in die H√ľgelkette des Montalbano, das Trainingsgel√§nde von Giro- und Tour-Gewinner Vincenzo Nibali, durch das Weinanbaugebiet um die mittelalterliche Stadt Montecarlo und Sie besuchen¬† die beschauliche Stadt Vinci, den Geburtsort Leonardos. Mit dem Anstieg auf die ‚ÄěMonti Pisani‚Äú und der Fahrt durch die landschaftlich reizvolle ‚ÄěSvizzera Pesciatina‚Äú sind jedoch auch bergigere Gegenden zu bew√§ltigen.

Auf drei Touren haben Sie ab 2017 die Möglichkeit die Kunststädte Lucca, Pisa und Pistoia mit dem Rennrad zu erleben.

Genie√üen Sie diese Standort-Tour in einer der sch√∂nsten Kulturlandschaften der Welt, wo sich die Herausforderungen des Sports wunderbar mit kulinarischen Gen√ľssen verbinden lassen.

Und sollte das Wetter einmal nicht mitspielen oder Sie einen Tag nicht auf dem Sattel sitzen m√∂chten, bieten sich die nahegelegenen Kunstst√§dte wie Lucca, Florenz und Pisa f√ľr einen Ausflug an.

Leistungen

  • 6x √úbernachtung mit Fr√ľhst√ľck im 4*S Hotel in Montecatini Terme
  • Pers√∂nliche Begr√ľ√üung und Tour-Info
  • Welcome-Drink
  • Aperitif zum Tourabschluss
  • Eigene Ausschilderung der Routen
  • Tour-Hotline
  • Bestens ausgearbeitete Rennrad-Strecken
  • Tour-Mappe mit Road- und Tourbook (√úbersichtskarten, H√∂henmeterprofile etc.)
  • GPS-Tracks auf Wunsch

Extra Leistungen

  • Spezielle Beinmassage mit warmem √Ėl im Thai Silk Spa in Montecatini Terme, 30 Min. Preis ‚ā¨ 40,- (reservierbar bei der Tour-Info und vor Ort zu zahlen)

Tour Schedule 2018

Anreise jeden Tag vom: 24.03 bis 24.10.

Auf Anfrage sind eventuell auch andere Anreisedaten möglich.

Lucca Dom Toskanarennradtour-toskana-00003

Preise

Buchungscode GdT Stella
Grundpreis pro Person im DZ/√úF 559,-‚ā¨
Zuschlag Einzelzimmer 195,-‚ā¨
Zusatznacht Montecatini pro Person im DZ 67,-‚ā¨
Zuschlag ZN Montecatini pro Person im EZ 19,-‚ā¨
Zuschlag Halbpension (6x) 150,-‚ā¨
Mietrennrad Carbon 170,-‚ā¨
Mietrad Sportiv-Bike 120,-‚ā¨
Einzelfahrer Zuschlag ** 120,-‚ā¨

Anreise / Parken / Abreise

  • Hotelgarage ca.‚ā¨ 50,- / Woche
  • Airport-Shuttle: auf Wunsch organisieren wir Flughafentransfers von Florenz und Pisa nach Montecatini Terme und zur√ľck, ca. ‚ā¨ 100,- / Transfer.

Hinweis

Kurtaxe, soweit fällig, nicht im Reisepreis enthalten!

Alle Preise in Euro inklusive Mehrwertsteuer.

**120‚ā¨ Gep√§cktransport-Zuschlag f√ľr Al¬≠lein¬≠rei¬≠sen¬≠de. Bei zwei oder mehr Rei¬≠sen¬≠den in dieser Reisewoche ent¬≠f√§llt dieser.

rennradtour-toskana-00061rennradtour-toskana-00060

Programm

mappa-tour-stella-2016-10-14

Toursteckbrief

  • Gesamtkilometer:¬†ca. 420 km ‚Äď 455 km
  • Routenl√§nge:¬†5 Touren zwischen. ca. 75 km und 125 km
  • Anforderung: ca. 6000 Hm oder ca. 6250 Hm
  • Voraussetzung: gute Grundlagenkondition

Streckencharakter

  • durch die H√ľgellandschaft gepr√§gt von stetig abwechselnden Auf- und Abfahrten
  • nur wenige lange Anstiege und kaum flache Abschnitte
  • ganz √ľberwiegend abseits von verkehrsreichen Hauptstra√üen
  • bei Ein- und Ausfahrten in die St√§dte muss mit mehr Verkehr gerechnet werden

Anreise Tag

A

Individuelle Anreise nach Montecatini Terme

Begr√ľ√üung und Tour-Info im Anreisehotel in Montecatini Terme.

TOUR 1

1

Pisa / Monte Serra (ca. 125 km, 1200 Hm)

Zum Aufw√§rmen geht es durch die landwirtschaftlich gepr√§gte Ebene von Bientina. Die Bergkette der ‚ÄěMonti Pisani‚Äú, die Herausforderung der heutigen Tour, ist schon aus der Ferne zu sehen. Sie gelangen in den f√ľr seine Kamelien bekannten Ort Pieve di Compito und von hier gilt es auf einem zirka zehn Kilometer langen Anstieg den 900m hohen Monte Serra zu erklimmen. Auf dessen h√∂chstem Punkt angekommen bietet sich ein atemberaubender Ausblick auf Pisa und das Mittelmeer. Nach der Abfahrt geht es √ľber den kleinen mittelalterlichen Ort Buti wieder in die Ebene und im weiteren Verlauf durch leicht h√ľgeliges Gel√§nde zur√ľck ins Quartier.

Ohne einen Höhenmeter mehr, haben Sie auf der längeren Strecke die Möglichkeit bis Pisa zu fahren. Belohnt werden Sie mit der Piazza dei Miracoli und seinem einzigartigen Schiefen Turm.

Tour 2

2

Vinci (ca. 75 km, ca. 800 Hm)

Unsere ‚ÄěHausrunde‚Äú f√ľhrt zun√§chst durch flaches und dann leicht h√ľgeliges Gel√§nde. Durch eine einzigartige Kulturlandschaft geht es entlang der Weinstra√üe ‚Äěstrada dell‚ÄėOlio e del vino del Montalbano‚Äú bis in den kleinen mittelalterlichen Ort Vinci, indem sich das Leonardo Museum und das Geburtshaus des ber√ľhmten Renaissancek√ľnstlers befinden. An Olivenhainen und Weinst√∂cken vorbei, beginnt die R√ľckfahrt mit einer l√§ngeren Steigung bei der Sie mit phantastischen Panoramablicken auf die Bergkette der Monte Pisani und das Tal Valdinievole belohnt werden.

Tour 3

3

San Baronto (ca. 80 km, ca. 1400 Hm)

Das erste Highlight auf der heutigen Etappe ist die Steigung nach San Baronto. Als Teil der WM-Strecke und mehrerer Giroetappen bildet es das Mekka des Rennradsports in der Toskana. Nach einer kurzen St√§rkung, vielleicht mit einem leckeren ‚Äěpanino‚Äú in der Bar ‚ÄěL‚Äôindicatore‚Äú, geht es auf eine lange Abfahrt und anschlie√üend rollen Sie durch die von Baumschulen und G√§rtnereien gepr√§gte Ebene von Pistoia. Einen Abstecher in das mittelalterliche Zentrum von Pistoia zu fahren ist auf jeden Fall lohnenswert.

Weitere reizvolle Anstiege f√ľhren Sie in die Ausl√§ufer des Apennin-Gebirges. Die Landschaft √§ndert ihren Charakter und die Strecke wird zunehmend von schattigen Kastanien- und Akazienw√§lder ges√§umt. Spektakul√§re Blicke in die Bergwelten des Apennin und die H√ľgellandschaft der Toskana entsch√§digen f√ľr die Anstrengungen.

Tour 4

4

Lucca / Montecarlo (ca. 90 km, ca. 1100 Hm oder ca. 75 km, ca. 850 Hm)

Zum Einrollen verlaufen die ersten Kilometer durch die Ebene des ‚ÄěPadule di Fucecchio‚Äú. Anschlie√üend f√ľhrt ein leichter Anstieg in die auf einem kleinen Berg gelegene Stadt Montecarlo. Belohnt werden die Anstrengungen mit einer kurvenreichen Panaromastra√üe, √ľber die man weiter in die H√ľgellandschaft gelangt. Hier zeigt die Toskana ihr vertrautes Gesicht: alte Weing√ľter mit Zypressenalleen, Olivenhaine und Weinst√∂cke pr√§gen nun das Landschaftsbild.

Die folgenden Auf- und Abfahrten gew√§hren Ihnen zahlreiche faszinierende Ein- und Ausblicke in das Herz der Toskana. Mit der Piazza dell‚ÄėAnfiteatro, dem Dom San Martino und der beeindruckenden Stadtmauer ist Lucca anschlie√üend ein wirklich fantastisches Highlight. Nach einem kurzem flachen Abschnitt fahren Sie √ľber leicht welliges Gel√§nde wieder zur√ľck Richtung Montecatini.

Wer m√∂chte kann die Tour mit einer Rundfahrt ausschlie√ülich √ľber Montecarlo verk√ľrzen.

Tour 5

5

Svizzera Pesciatina (ca. 80 km; ca. 1700 Hm)

Die Abschluss-Etappe beginnt mit der ‚ÄěGiro d‚ÄėItalia Steigung‚Äú nach Vico, welche im weiteren Verlauf in die H√∂hen der Apennin-Ausl√§ufer f√ľhrt. Nach einer ersten Abfahrt gelangt man in einen eher unber√ľhrten Teil der Toskana: in die malerische Landschaft der sogenannten ‚ÄěSvizzera Pesciatina‚Äú. Bei der hier zu bew√§ltigenden Steigung √∂ffnet sich der Blick immer wieder auf die aus den Kastanienw√§ldern imposant herausragenden zehn mittelalterlichen D√∂rfern.

W√§hrend einer langen Abfahrt fahren Sie am Fluss Pescia entlang in den gleichnamigen Ort und nach einem letzten Anstieg beeindruckt ein erneuter Ausblick auf die sanften H√ľgel des Valdinievole und das nahegelegene Montecatini Terme.

Tour 6

6

Abreise oder verlängerter Aufenthalt.

Giro di Toscana „Stella“ 2018

Anreise jeden Tag vom 24.03 bis 20.10.2018

Auf Anfrage sind eventuell auch andere Anreisedaten möglich.

559‚ā¨

Fotos