Customer Service Mo-Fr: 9-18 - Tel. +49 176 46618319 info@giroditoscana.com

Giro di Toscana “Maremma”

Road cycling across the land of Butteri Cowboys and Etruscans.

At a Glance

Individual Road Cycling Tour

7 nights bed and breakfast in 4**** and 3*** hotels

Tour Schedule 2019

Starting every Saturday from Apr 6th to Oct.19th, 2019

Flexible arrival dates

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged

Route Profile

Mostly away from busy main roads

Tour Description

On this tour you will be mainly cycling on roads with little traffic, across the hills and mountains in this almost entirely farming and still unknown region of Tuscany. Olive groves, vineyards, cypress-lines roads and wheat fields characterise the landscape in this area.

The point of departure and arrival for your tour is the “Bike-Hotel Antico Casale“, steeped in nature and close to the lovely wine-growing village of Scansano. The other stages are in San Quirico, located in Val d’Orcia – a valley which is part of the wine heritage area, and in the medieval town of Massa Marittima to the North of Maremma.

Our own tour signposting, combined with GPS tracking, will make for highly enjoyable road cycling. Moreover, on four of the tours, you will have the possibility of choosing between a longer and shorter route.

On these tours across this fascinating region, the beauty of the landscape is at the forefront. Also, you will be cycling through quaint locations such as Pitigliano, Sorano, Pienza, Montepulciano. Last but not least, you will be able to see the ruins of the cloister at San Galgano, as well as fit in a trip to the Mediterranean. It is also possible, if you wish, to visit the highest mountain in southern Tuscany, Monte Amiata, which stands 1734 m high.

The Maremma region will spoil you also from a culinary point of view. Superb food, combined with the excellent Morellino wine will be your reward for uphill cycling during the day.

Weather in Maremma

Scansano, Toskana
Klar
07:1016:49 CET
das Gefühl: 1°C
Wind: 22km/h 40°
Feuchtigkeit: 66%
Druck: 1017.3mbar
UV- Index: 0
3h4h5h6h7h
5°C
5°C
5°C
5°C
5°C
SaSoMoDiMi
min 4°C
10/1°C
8/5°C
11/3°C
13/6°C

Route Profile

Total Kilometers

560 km to 630 km approx.

Stage lenght

6 stages between 80 km und 120 km

Difference in level

from 7400 up to 9500 hm gained approx.

Requirement

good basic conditions

Route Profile

Hilly landscape, characterised by regular ups and downs along the road

a few long climbs and hardly any flat stretches

mostly away from busy main roads

Tour Map

SERVICES

HOTELS

7 nights bed and breakfast in 4**** and 3*** hotels

Your Hotel

Bike Hotel „Antico Casale di Scansano“

Personal Welcome

Personal welcome, tour info and welcome drink!

Luggage Transfers

Luggage transfers from one hotel to the next

TOUR-HOTLINE

We are always available on our Tour-hotline

ROUTE PROFILE

Carefully designed road cycling route

User-Friendly Routes

Own signposting along the route

Tour Map

Tour map with road and tour book (overview maps, altimetry profile, etc.)

BIKE Brunch

4 bike brunches after the tour in Scansano and in Massa Marittima

GPS TRACKS

GPS-tracks on request

LAST BUT NOT LEAST...

Cheers!

EXTRA SERVICES

Special massages for cyclists on request

PRICE 2019

Tour Schedule 2019

SEASON A

Starting every Saturday from:

06.04 to 21.06.2019
14.09 to 19.10.2019

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged.

SEASON B

Starting every Saturday from: 22.06 to 13.09.2019

On request, if possible, other departure dates can be arranged.

Arrival / Parking / Departure

YOUR ARRIVAL
  • Free parking space at the hotel
  • Shuttle service to and from the hotel: Grosseto Train station € 60,00
  • Airport transfers: on request
NOTE

Any tourist tax, if due, is not included in the tour price.

(all Prices in Euro, VAT & Taxes Included)

**120€ “Solo traveller” luggage transfer extra charge. From 2 travellers we don’t charge it.

Program

Individual arrival at your bike-hotel „Antico Casale“ in Scansano

Welcome drink, tour info and bicycle delivery.

Tour Pitigliano (approx. 90 km / 1200 hm gained, or approx. 110 km / 1600 hm gained)

Up we go, cycling across Maremma. Olive groves, Weinhügel and wheat fields are typical of this region. The first stop in today’s tour ist he medieval town of Montemerano, after which we move on to the famous “Cascate del Mulino” in Saturnia. Those who wish, will be able to enjoy a first relaxing break with free access to the small spa water springs.

Here we are at the heart of the Etruscan region. This ancient Tuscan population settled in the area long before the Romans. A long uphill ride, about six kilometres long, leads to quaint villages such as Sovana and Sorano, as well as Pitigliano which is the highpoint of this route.

From there, cycling through Manciano, we make our way back to our hotel.

Scansano – San Quirico (approx. 80 km / 1500 hm gained, or approx. 100 km / 2400 hm gained)

On this tour stage you will be leaving Maremma and, towards the end of the route, the region of Val d’Orcia – listed as part of the world’s cultural heritage – awaits you. The initial uphill cycle ride leads to the medieval village of Roccalbegna, famous for its two large cliffs.

Further along the route, there is a possibility to climb the spent volcano and highest mountain in southern Tuscany. Those who do not fancy cycling up its 1738 m, will have the chance to enjoy a shorter and easier route through Arcidosso. The destination of today’s stage, after cycling through the villages of Castiglione and Bagno Vignoni, is San Quirico d’Orcia. Beautiful views over the hills of Tuscany will be a valuable reward for the day’s efforts.

Tour Val d’Orcia (approx. 85 km / 900 hm gained, or approx. 95 km / 1200 hm gained)

This round tour leads through the beauties of Val d’Orcia. From San Quirico we cycle uphill to the first highpoint: the small Renaissance town of Pienza. Landmarks such as the Cathedral and the Palazzo Comunale are an invitation to stop awhile; it is also well worth tasting some “pecorino”, the sheep’s cheese whose aroma pervades the whole village. Turning off at the “San Biagio“ junction, it is possible to make a detour into the famous wine resort of Montepulciano.

Also here it is worthwhile taking a short tour to Piazza Grande and admire the beauties of the town. The route then leads through the spa town of Chianciano Terme, then Sarteano and on towards Radicofani, whose most famous landmark is the medieval fortress. Cycling through a fantastic hilly route, we make our way back to San Quirico.

San Quirico – Massa Marittima (approx. 105 km / 1800 hm gained)

After a downhill start of the tour, you will be riding uphill to the hometown of Brunello wine, Montalcino. Next, you will be cycling through macchia mediterranea (maquis) in the Val di Merse and the Tocchi nature reserve. One of the highpoints of this tour is then the old cloister of San Galgano. Through the medieval village of Prata and more woodland areas, we finally reach today’s destination: Massa Marittima.

Tour “mare e monti“ (approx. 100 km / 700 hm gained, or approx. 120 km / 1200 hm gained)

Today’s tour starts with an uphill cycle to the old town of Monterotondo Marittimo. A cappuccino break between the medial walls is well deserved. After a downhill ride through the “Colline Metallifere“ region, a mining area since Etruscans times, we reach Monteverdi Marittimo. Enchanting views will be a reward for the uphill cycling effort.

You will get more exciting panoramas while riding from Sassetta to Suvereto, on a winding stretch of road through the cork oak forests of Val di Cornia, which is a must-see for any road cyclist. The last third of today‘s route leads to the seaside at Follonica, with excellent swimming possibilities offered by the beaches of Carbonifera and Torre Mozza.

Massa Marittima – Scansano (approx. 100 km / 1300 hm gained)

This final tour of the is once again characterised by the unique landscape of Maremma. The ride begins with an uphill cycle, about six kilometres long, through woodland. The medieval villages of Roccatederighi and Roccastrada are ideal for a short break.

After a rapid climb to approximately one hundred meter altitude in Campagnatico, you will get an overview of the Ombrone valley. This part of the tour is a straight and flat cycle ride along the “highways”. After the final long climb of the week, you will have earned a glass of Morellino wine in the square at Scansano, as well as a relaxing massage and an excellent dinner in your bike-hotel.

Departure or extended stay.

Feedbacks

Was unsere Kunden sagen

“The tour briefing was very good. Also the tours and the road book were very good, and the signpostings as well. The Formigli bikes were the best I have ever ridden! It was also nice that it was manifactured so close to were we where biking. The price was good and my total rating very good.”

Marcus Nyman

15.11.2016

” This is a great road bike tour and we will recommend it to anyone who is interested in joining a future tour. It is extremely well organized/well marked and Raimund was great. He helped us through a variety of issues.”

Barbara Donaldson

08.09.2018

“The route was superbly marked and the directions very detailed and accurate. We never got lost. The views from Volterra, and then from all the surrounding mountain tops were unforgettable, unreal, like the paintings of Italian masters. Lots of yellows and browns, and deep greens of the sharp cone-like cypresses lining the roads. We visited many little medieval towns, mostly empty of tourists, serene and beautiful. We had a fantastic time! We loved every minute of it! The route selection was excellent. Thank you!”

Mirek Gorski

08.08.2017

Should you require any further details, please do not hesitate to contact us!

GDPR

Customer Service Mo-Fr: 9-18 - Tel. +49 176 46618319 info@giroditoscana.com

Giro di Toscana “Maremma”

Mit dem Rennrad durch das Land der Butteri-Cowboys und Etrusker.

Auf einen Blick

Individuelle Rennradtour

8 Tage / 7 Nächte mit Frühstück in 4**** und 3*** Hotels

Anreisetermine 2019

Anreise jeden Samstag vom 06.04.2019 bis 19.10.2019

Flexible Anreisedaten

Auf Anfrage eventuell andere Anreisedaten möglich

tourbeschreibung

Auf dieser Etappentour fahren Sie auf meist verkehrsarmen Straßen durch die Hügel und Berge dieser fast ausschließlich landwirtschaftlich geprägten und noch unbekannten Region der Toskana. Olivenhaine, Weinstöcke, Zypressenalleen und Kornfelder bestimmen hier das Landschaftsbild. Das schön in der Natur gelegene Bike-Hotel “Antico Casale” in der Nähe des Weinortes Scansano ist Ihr Ausgangs- und Zielort.

Die weiteren Etappenorte sind San Quirico, welches sich im zum Weltkulturerbe gehörenden Val d’Orcia Tal befindet, sowie die mittelalterliche Stadt Massa Marittima im Norden der Maremma. Unsere eigene Tour-Ausschilderung sowie GPS-Tracks machen das Fahren zu einem echten Vergnügen. Zudem haben Sie auf vier Touren die Wahl zwischen einer längeren und einer kürzeren Strecke zu entscheiden.

Auf Ihren Touren durch dieses faszinierende Gebiet steht der Genuss der landschaftlichen Schönheit im Vordergrund. Allerdings fahren Sie auch durch kleine reizvolle Ortschaften wie zum Beispiel Pitigliano, Sorano, Pienza, Montepulciano. Ebenso werden sie die bemerkenswerten Reste des Klosters San Galgano sehen, sowie eine Fahrt zum Mittelmeer erleben. Und wer möchte kann zudem den höchsten Berg der Südtoskana, den Monte Amiata mit 1734 m erfahren.

Auch kulinarisch können Sie sich in der Maremma verwöhnen lassen. Bestes Essen zusammen mit dem ausgezeichneten Morellino Wein belohnen Sie für die am Tage bewältigten Höhenmeter.

Radfahrwetter in Maremma

Scansano, Toskana
07:3316:41 CET
das Gefühl: 3°C
Wind: 6km/h 120°
Feuchtigkeit: 90%
Druck: 1013.8mbar
UV- Index: 0
9h10h11h12h13h
5°C
7°C
8°C
10°C
12°C
SoMoDiMiDo
13/6°C
12/1°C
9/0°C
8/1°C
7/2°C

Toursteckbrief

Gesamtkilometer

ca. 560 km bis 630 km

Routenlänge

6 Touren zwischen ca. 80 km und 120 km

Anforderung

von ca. 7400 bis 9500 Hm

Voraussetzung

gute Grundlagenkondition

Streckencharakter

Aufgrund der Hügellandschaft geprägt durch regelmäßiges Auf und Ab

einige wenige lange Anstiege und kaum flache Abschnitte

meist abseits von verkehrsreichen Hauptstraßen

karte des reiseverlaufes

LEISTUNGEN

UNTERKUNFT

7x Übernachtung mit Frühstück in 4**** und 3*** Hotels

An- und Abreisehotel

Bike Hotel „Antico Casale di Scansano“

persönliche BEGRÜßUNG

Persönliche Begrüßung, Tour-Info und Welcome-Drink!

Komfortable Gepäcktransfers

Gepäcktransfers von Hotel zu Hotel

WELCOME DRINK

Welcome Drink am Tag Ihrer Anreise!

TOUR-HOTLINE

Auf unserer Tour-Hotline sind wir stets erreichbar

RENNRADSTRECKEN

Bestens ausgearbeitete Rennrad-Strecken

Ausschilderung der Routen

Eigene Ausschilderung der Routen

Tour Mappe

Mit Road- und Tourbook (Übersichtskarten, Höhenmeterprofile etc.)

aperitiv ZUM TOURABSCHLUSS

Sie stoßen mit einem prickelnden Aperitif an!

BIKE Brunch

4x Bike Brunch nach der Tour

GPS TRACKS

GPS-Tracks auf Wunsch

EXTRA LEISTUNGEN

Spezielle Biker Massagen auf Anfrage möglich

PREISE 2019

ANREISE TERMINE 2019

SAISON A

Anreise jeden Samstag vom:

06.04 bis 21.06.2019
14.09 bis 19.10.2019

Auf Anfrage sind eventuell auch andere Anreisedaten möglich.

SAISON B

Anreise jeden Samstag vom: 22.06 bis 13.09.2019

Auf Anfrage sind eventuell auch andere Anreisedaten möglich.

ANREISE / PARKEN / ABREISEN

IHRE ANREISE
  • Kostenloser Hotelparkplatz
  • Shuttle Service vom/zum Hotel: Bahnhof Grosseto € 60,00
  • Flughafentransfers: auf Anfrage
HINWEIS

Kurtaxe, soweit fällig, nicht im Reisepreis enthalten!

Alle Preise in Euro inklusive Mehrwertsteuer

**120€ Gepäcktransport-Zuschlag für Al­lein­rei­sen­de. Bei zwei oder mehr Rei­sen­den in dieser Reisewoche ent­fällt dieser.

Programm – REISEVERLAUF

Individuelle Anreise in Ihr Bike-Hotel „Antico Casale“ in Scansano

Begrüßungsdrink, Tourinfo und Radausgabe.

Tour Pitigliano (ca. 90 km / ca. 1200 Hm oder ca. 110 km / ca. 1600 Hm)

Auf geht’s in die Weiten der Maremma. Olivenhaine, Weinhügel und Kornfelder sind charakteristisch für diese Region. Erstes Ziel der heutigen Tour ist der mittelalterliche Ort Montemerano um im weiteren Verlauf die berühmten Cascate del Mulino von Saturnia zu erreichen. Wer möchte kann sich hier an den kostenlos zugänglichen kleinen Thermalwasserfällen die erste Erholungspause gönnen.

Anschließend gelangen Sie in etruskisches Gebiet. Das Urvolk der Toskaner besiedelte dieses Gebiet bereits lange vor den Römern. Nach einer langen Steigung von ca. sechs Kilometern liegen faszinierende Orte wie Sovana und Sorano sowie Pitigliano als Highlight auf Ihrer Route. Von dort geht es dann über Manciano wieder zurück in Ihre Unterkunft.

Scansano – San Quirico (ca. 80 km / ca. 1500 Hm oder ca. 100 km / ca. 2400 Hm)

Auf dieser Etappentour verlassen Sie die Maremma und gelangen gegen Ende der Strecke in die zum Weltkulturerbe gehörende Region der Val d’Orcia. Nach den ersten Anstiegen kommen Sie die durch ihre zwei großen Felsen bekannte mittelalterliche Ortschaft Roccalbegna.

Im weiteren Tourverlauf haben Sie dann die Möglichkeit den erloschenen Vulkan und höchsten Berg der Südtoskana den Monte Amiata zu erklimmen. Wer die 1738 m nicht fahren will hat die Möglichkeit über Arcidosso die kürzere und leichtere Variante zu wählen. Am Ende gelangen Sie über die Orte Castiglione und Bagno Vignoni in Ihr heutiges Etappenziel San Quirico d’Orcia. Beeindruckende Panoramablicke in die Hügel der Toskana sind die Belohnung für die Anstrengungen des Tages.

Tour Val d’Orcia (ca. 85 km / ca. 900 Hm oder ca. 95 km / 1200 Hm)

Diese Rundfahrt führt Sie zu den Schönheiten des Val d’Orcia. Von San Quirico aus geht es zum ersten Highlight in die kleine Renaissance Stadt Pienza. Bauwerke wie die Kathedrale und der Palazzo Comunale laden genauso zum Verweilen ein, wie die Verköstigung des „Pecorino“, der Schafskäse, dessen Geruch in der ganzen Stadt präsent ist.

Am Abzweig „di San Biagio“ besteht die Möglichkeit einen Abstecher in die berühmte Weinstadt Montepulciano zu machen. Auch hier können bei einer kurzen Rundfahrt bis zur Piazza Grande die Besonderheiten der Stadt bewundert werden. Über den Thermalort Chianciano Terme, geht es nach Sarteano und weiter Richtung Radicofani, welches durch ihre mittelalterliche Burg schon von weitem zu sehen ist. Durch die fantastische Hügellandschaft geht es wieder zurück nach San Quirico.

San Quirico – Massa Marittima (ca. 105 km / ca. 1800 km Hm)

Nach einer Abfahrt zu Beginn der Tour geht es dann in den Anstieg hinauf in die Brunello-Wein Stadt Montalcino. Im weiteren Verlauf durchfahren Sie die Macchia Mediterranea der Val di Merse und den Naturpark „Riserva Naturale Tocchi“.

Ein Highlight auf dieser Tour ist anschließend die alte Klosteranlage San Galgano. Über den mittelalterlichen Ort Prata geht es durch weitere Waldgebiete in Ihr heutiges Etappenziel Massa Marittima.

Tour „mare e monti“ (ca. 100 km / ca. 700 Hm oder ca. 120 km / ca. 1200 Hm)

Die heutige Tour beginnt mit einer Steigung in den alten Ort Monterotondo Marittimo. Zwischen mittelalterlichen Mauern lohnt sich ein Cappuccino-Stop. Nach einer anschließenden Abfahrt durch das Gebiet der „Colline Metallifere“, hier haben schon die Etrusker Erz abgebaut, kommen Sie nach Monteverdi Marittimo.

Tolle Ausblicke belohnen für das Schwitzen im Anstieg. Weitere tolle Panoramablicke erleben Sie dann auf der Strecke von Sassetta nach Suvereto, diese kurvenreiche Strecke durch die Korkeichenwälder des Val di Cornia ist ein „Muss“ für jeden Rennradfahrer. Im letzten Streckendrittel erreichen Sie das Meer bei Follonica. Hier bieten die Strände von Carbonifera und Torre Mozza beste Bademöglichkeiten.

Massa Marittima – Scansano (ca. 100 km / 1300 Hm)

Die letzte Tour steht nochmals ganz im Zeichen der einzigartigen Natur der Maremma. Die Route beginnt mit einem ca. sechs Kilometer langem und durch Waldstücke geprägten Anstieg. Anschließend laden mittelalterliche Städte wie Roccatederighi und Roccastrada zu einer kurzen Pause ein.

Nach den schnell erklommenen hundert Höhenmetern nach Campagnatico erblicken sie die Weite des Ombrone Tals. In diesem Streckenabschnitt geht es ohne Kurven und Anstiege über lange „Autobahnen“ flach dahin. Nach dem letzten langen Anstieg der Woche haben Sie sich auf der Piazza in Scansano ein Glas Morellino-Wein genauso verdient wie eine gute Massage und ein köstliches Abendessen in Ihrem Bike-Hotel.

Abreise oder verlängerter Aufenthalt.

Kundenerfahrungen

Was unsere Kunden sagen

” Erst mal ein großes Lob an Euch für die tollen Touren, die grandiosen Einblicke in die Landschaft der Toskana, die hervorragende Beschilderung und für die Strecken abseits vom Massentourismus. Wir sind voll begeistert und haben diesen Urlaub ja soo genossen. Auch die Unterbringung in den verschiedenen Hotels war einfach genial und hat uns immer wieder aufs Neue überrascht. Wer hat denn schon die Möglichkeit in einer Residenz zu übernachten… Vielen Dank für diesen schönen Rennradurlaub den wir mit Giro di Toscana erleben durften”.

Rolf Hollenbach

15.08.2018

” Die Tourinformation am Anreisetag war ausgezeichnet, beim Gepäcktransport hat alles super funktioniert und auch die GPS-Tracks waren korrekt. Die Strecken sind mit viel Mühe entstanden – die Streckenführung beweist es; und sind fast durchgängig mit gutem Belag und mit recht wenig Schlag-Huckel-Löchern.”

K.St.

14.04.2016

” Wir waren begeistert von der schönen Landschaft und den gut zusammengestellten Touren. Die Woche war ausgesprochen abwechlungsreich und wir haben alle Ecken der Toskana genossen – auf dem Rad und „an der Gabel“.

Friederike Nagel

23.07.2017

Bei fragen zögern sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren!

GDPR (DSGVO)